Monday, January 28, 2008

Pamunuan San Lalawigan Sa Leyte

The title is literally translated as the Capitol of the Province of Leyte. This building is located at the corner of Sen. Enage Street and Magsaysay Boulevard in Tacloban City – the capital of Leyte, Philippines. The fa├žade is along Sen. Enage Street. It was built in 1907; and the seat of the Leyte Provincial Government. The incumbent Leyte Governor is Carlos Jericho Petilla.

In 1944, it became the seat of the Commonwealth Government of Philippines when the then President Sergio Osmena came in with the WW II Liberation Forces.

I have been to Tacloban City countless of times since 1985; but only sighted this beautiful structure last Wednesday. I wasn’t able to explore it then yet; as I was catching my flight for Manila. When I return to Tacloban, I’d make it a point to explore it.


1 comment:

Sarge Charlie said...

Great old building. I am posting late today since I just got of the Carnival Freedom and their first annual Bloggers Cruise, 700 bloggers on board, it was fun, next one from New Orleans in February 09.